Post-Apocalyptic Book List
Advanced View Show All Novels Only Series Only Trilogies Only

Ashes, The

Alone in the Ashes

Written By:William W. Johnstone - 1985

  • Alone in the Ashes - William W. Johnstone cover


After the nuclear nightmare, one man's dream became a new nation's hope!

The Great War Of '88 was a nuclear nightmare. America was shattered and only one man—Ben Raines, the famed soldier and survival expert—had the knowledge and the guts to build a new society out of the ashes of this once proud land. But now he can no longer stay with his rebel forces. They depend upon him too much, and Raines does not wish to be a God among men.

In this hellish new world, however, there are devils among men... and Raines soon becomes their hunted prey. Living or dying means nothing to these human animals—they'll kill him for no better reason than to steal the boots off his feet. From Georgia to West Texas, from Colorado to Idaho, Raines desperately tries to stay one step ahead of death, until he discovers that no one—not even Ben Raines—can survive...



A crowd of ragged men and women had gathered around the pickup. They were armed with clubs, axes, knives, and spears.

"The welcoming committee, "Ben Raines said softly.

"What do you want here?" a woman shouted at Ben and Judy.

"We don't mean you any harm," said Ben calmly, hoping for the best. "We're just traveling through."

"Why did you stop?" a man called. He held an axe in his hands.

"People on the roofs with bows and arrows," Judy whispered.

"I see them. If shooting starts, you take the south side of the street, I'll take the north."

"All right."

"We don't want any trouble," Ben called out. But he was going to get trouble—and plenty of it!




Other Titles in the list