Post-Apocalyptic Book List
Advanced View Show All Novels Only Series Only Trilogies Only

Ashes, The

Wind in the Ashes

Written By:William W. Johnstone - 1986

  • Wind in the Ashes - William W. Johnstone cover


One man survived that nightmare of war to lead a free nation out of the ashes

Savage new world

After the devastating nuclear holocaust of World War III, one man survived to lead a new nation out of the ashes. He’s Ben Raines, famed soldier and survival expert, and upon his shoulders rest the hopes of his ragged band of followers—and the fate of the free world.

From his secret outpost in the far west, Raines orders his army of rebels out of Georgia to join him in one last desperate assault against the Russian invaders, and the mercenary turncoat Sam Hartline who has joined them. But until the reinforcements can reach him, and with just a handful of men, Raines must wage a bloody guerilla war against the enemy, a daring strategy of hit-and-run terror that will keep alight the torch of American defiance and cause freedom’s wind to blow once more across the shattered land.



The word spread like a raging forest fire across the torn nation: Ben Raines is dying.

Sam Hartline’s spotters reported large groups of Rebels gathered around Ben’s command post, standing quietly. Waiting.

Then the word came, buzzing out of the radios: The Eagle is dead.

Hartline sent in a team to check it out. They reported back with grim satisfaction. Ben Raines was dead. The Rebel movement was in chaos.

Sam Hartline learned back in his chair and howled his laughter.

"Get the boys ready," he ordered. "We’re gonna kick those damn Rebels into the sea!"




Other Titles in the list