Post-Apocalyptic Book List
Advanced View Show All Novels Only Series Only Trilogies Only

Dies the Fire

The Sunrise Lands

Written By:S. M. Stirling - 2007

  • The Sunrise Lands  - S. M. Stirling cover


Rudi Mackenzie—the son of the High Priestess of Clan Mackenzie and the Bear Lord of the Bearkillers, the two groups responsible for establishing peace in western Oregon—will one day assume leardership over his people. But a prophecy made at his birth spoke of an even greater destiny for the young man—a destiny that is about to be fulfilled.

A mysterious traveler has arrived. He brings news from the east, from Nantucket Island, long rumored to be the source of the Change. He has been sent on a mission to bring back with him the Sword of the Lady from the sunset oceans. Nut he doesn't know what he seeks.

Rudi does, though. As son of the High Priestess, he is the Sword of the Lady. Now, guided by the traveler, he sets out with a select band of trusted companions on a quest across the Changed land that was once America. But between him and his destiny lies the Valley of Paradise—and the cult of a madman determined to stop him...


New York Times bestselling author Harry Turtledove asked: "How would we fare if we suddenly had the past 250 years and more of technological progress taken away from us?" And S.M. Stirling provided an answer with his epic trilogy of humanity's descent into medievalism. Now the national bestselling author introduces us to the first generation of people to come of age on an Earth where technology no longer functions...




Other Titles in the list