Post-Apocalyptic Book List
Advanced View Show All Novels Only Series Only Trilogies Only

Dies the Fire

The Sword of the Lady

Written By:S. M. Stirling - 2009

  • The Sword of the Lady  - S. M. Stirling cover


Rudi Mackenzie has journeyed long and far across the land that was once the United States of America, seeking the shore where the sun rises, hoping to find the source of the world-altering event that has come to be known as the Change.

Finally, his goal is at hand. He has arrived at Nantucket, an island overrun with forest, inhabited by a mere two hundred people who claim to have been transported there from out of time.

Only one odd stone house remains standing. Within it, Rudi finds a beautifully made long sword

seemingly waiting for him.

And once he takes it up, nothing for Rudi—or for the world that he knows—will ever be the same...


"Stirling has blazed a clear comet trail across his postapocalyptic landscape that illuminates both the best and the worst of which our species is capable." —Science Fiction Weekly

"Nobody wrecks a world better than S. M. Stirling, and nobody does a better job of showing that people remain people, with all their high points and low, in the wreckage." —Harry Turtledove, Author of The United States of Atlantis

"A master of speculative fiction and alternate history,"* national bestselling author S.M. Stirling continues his "epic of survival and rebirth"* in a world where all technology has been rendered inoperative and obsolete—and where a young warrior at last embraces his destiny. *Library Journal




Other Titles in the list