Post-Apocalyptic Book List
Advanced View Show All Novels Only Series Only Trilogies Only

Wild Cards

Busted Flush

Written By:George R. R. Martin - 2008

  • Busted Flush - George R. R. Martin cover


In the six decades since the alien plague known as the "Wild Card virus" spread a wave of mutations across the globe, humanity has begun to come to terms with its consequences. Grotesque half-human creatures known as "jokers" inhabit an underworld of their own, while the legendary prodigies known as "aces" have become real-world superheroes, complete with colorful names and costumes.

Now a new generation of aces has taken its place on the world stage, becoming crucial players in international events. At the United Nations, veteran ace John Fortune has assembled a team of young aces, known as the Committee, to assist at trouble spots around the world—including an invasion of zombies in hurricane-ravaged New Orleans, a freak nuclear explosion in a small Texas town, and a fateful showdown with the forces of the oil-rich Islamic caliphate in the Middle East.

But their opponents have their own aces and jokers ready, including a Marxist revolutionary, a brutal mercenary, a young boy with apocalyptic powers, and a sinister arm of the FBI known as SCARE.


Created more than two decades ago by bestselling fantasy novelist George R.R. Martin and a brilliant group of visionary writers, the Wild Cards series is a bold reinvention of the superhero mythos in prose form, as groundbreaking as Alan Moore's Watchmen and Frank Miller's Dark Knight. Now this acclaimed creation spotlights a new generation of heroes coping with the chaos of a new century...

"Delicious... Exactly the complexity, surprise, and unsentimental realism I'd expect out of a George R.R. Martin project." —Austin Grossman, author of Soon I Will Be Invincible, on Inside Straight

In a world-spanning "mosaic novel" that interweaves action and adventure with very human stories of ordinary people to whom awesome power comes as both blessing and curse, Busted Flush continues the epic saga begun by bestselling fantasy novelist George R.R. Martin more than two decades ago.




Other Titles in the list