Post-Apocalyptic Book List
Advanced View Show All Novels Only Series Only Trilogies Only


Adulthood Rites

Written By:Octavia E. Butler - 1988

  • Adulthood Rites - Octavia E. Butler cover


Book two of the Xenogenesis series

Lilith's baby, Akin, looks human. He is not. The alien Oankali, driven by irresistible need, have genetically merged with us. But there are rebels who resist the Oankali tide. Childless humans desperate to regain their world, they seek to "cleanse" the "alien taint" by kidnapping hybrid children like Akin. The raiders are blind to the truth: Earth's new children love all their parents. Babies destined to touch the universe, they are growing starships from the Earth that will eventually take the planet with them, leaving nothing behind.

Only an infant can make his despairing captors see that humankind's future is already lost. And won.


"Impeccably crafted... satisfying... Butler's literary craftsmanship is superb." —Washington Post Book World

"This is vintage Butler... excellent fodder for her followers and a perfect introduction to her work for the unfamiliar. Butler sets the imagination free, blending the real and the possible." —United Press International

"A minor masterpiece... her prose is lean and literate, her ideas expansive and elegant." —Houston Post




Other Titles in the list