Post-Apocalyptic Book List
Advanced View Show All Novels Only Series Only Trilogies Only



Written By:Octavia E. Butler - 1989

  • Imago - Octavia E. Butler cover


Book three of the Xenogenesis series

Child of the Earth and stars, Jodahs can shapeshift. Heal the maimed, cure cancer, create contagion with every breath, or mutate the ground with a touch. Jodahs is an ooloi, a being beyond gender, born with the alien Oankali power to mix pure DNA within its body. But the child is also the first ooloi born to a human mother, and its destiny is unknown. The futures if both humans and Oankali rest in one young being's successful metamorphosis into adulthood.

Jodahs can become a mad, living plague—or a bridge of peace. Its challenge is to reconcile its galactic heritage of gene trading with the rage of a people facing a terrifying dilemma. For human children will inherit the universe only if they lose all that makes them human.


"Butler is among the best of contemporary SF writers." —Houston Post

MacArthur Foundation grant recipient Octavia E. Butler's award-winning novels have earned her an acclaimed place in women's fiction. African-American literature, and speculative fiction. The Xenogenesis Series is an evocative, sensual—and disturbing—epic of human transformation.

"An engrossing tale, seducing the reader." —United Press International

"Butler's literary craftsmanship is superb." —Washington Post Book World




Other Titles in the list