Post-Apocalyptic Book List
Advanced View Show All Novels Only Series Only Trilogies Only

The Year of the Quiet Sun

Written By:Wilson Tucker - 1970

  • The Year of the Quiet Sun  - Wilson Tucker cover



Strapped into a Temporal Displacement Vehicle in 1978, Brian Chaney begins a top-secret mission to the future. He leaves behind a familiar, safe world and woman whom he knows he could love. Arriving in the twenty-first century he finds a devastated world, scarred by nuclear war, with only a few survivors haunting the landscape. Instead of reporting back to his home era on the terrifying new millennium, Chaney stays, confronting the tortured planet that his age has helped to create. The Year of the Quiet Sun is a bittersweet, poignant tale of apocalypse and survival, told from within the ruins of a decaying civilization.


"Time Displacement Vehicle?"

"Yes, sir." The satisfaction became triumph.

"It can't work!"

"The vehicle is in test operation."

"I don't believe it."

"You may see it for yourself, sir."

"It's there? It's sitting there in your lab?"

"Yes, sir."

"I'll be damned. What are you going to do with it?"

"Implement our new program, Mr. Chaney. The Indic report has become an integral part of the programin that it offered several hard guidelines for a survey of the future. We are now ready to initiate the second phase, the field explorations. Do you see the possibilities, sir?"

"You're going to get in that thing, that vehicle, and go somewhere? Go into the future?"

"No, sir. You are; the team will."


"Forceful, hardhitting and above all, thought-provoking." —Locus

"Gripping and entertaining science fiction." —The Milwaukee Journal